What do I eat for my daily meals here in Japan?

Today already 7th day in Japan. I getting used to the environment here… I’m sure you all wondering what do I eat everyday and how much is one meal here in Japan. There’s way to save here if you know how to find cheap and good food. In Kawaguchi, you find tons of restaurant here. Until today, I tried their italian restaurant, Japanese curry rice, Obento (set lunch), Taiwanese restaurant, Hong Kong Restaurant and McDonald. Usually for lunch I will go to restaurant to eat and for dinner I will go to supermarket to buy Obento to eat. Wondering why at night I go buy Obento to eat? Because they don’t keep overnight their Obento that they cook that day. So they will give discount on Obento and a lot of Japanese buy Obento at night for their dinner.

Their Obento price is ranging from 350 yen up to 600 yen and eating in restaurant ranging from 700 yen up to 1200 yen per meal. 350 yen Obento consider very cheap here if you are earning Japanese Yen. The best way to save money here is to cook yourself. Today I went to supermarket to buy spagetti and sauce to cook spagetti myself to eat. I calculated that 1 meal just cost about 150 yen if I cook spagetti myself. So it is all up to you whether how much you want to save here. Below are some photos on Obento that I ate.

Obento

OBento

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ajinomoto San on May 17, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Wei yr food is super yummy. You should cook yourself every meal and take them to work in lunch boxes. Then send the money saved back to all your “sisters” in your hometown. They dont have obento or Italian food luxuries like you. They are starving on Nasi lemak bungkus. The sister staying in Puchong is thin like 2B Pencil now.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bruce on May 17, 2007 at 9:09 am

    Haha…. you mean Emily like 2B pencil? what happen to her?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Michi-Kawa on May 23, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    Obento? Can bring one packet to share with me?

    Reply

  4. i have sushi alot!yay

    Reply

  5. very good tip, I am planning my trip to Japan and want to keep it cheap, cooking for my self is a good idea, do you know how much cost fish?

    Reply

  6. Posted by lewis1882 on November 7, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    I’m not sure about the price of fish there in Japan. From what I heard from my fren in Japan that seafood is expensive there. He only buy seafood if there is big discount on the seafood.

    If you are going there on a trip, I suggest you go try their food there instead of cooking yourself. I personally like their Tempura and just 500 yen i can enjoy yummy Tempura rice.

    Reply

  7. hihihihihihi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

