Akihabara, Electronic Town

I’m from Malaysia. When KL people talk about Low Yat Plaza, they know the building is a place to look for computers and handphones. Some people also said everyday is PC Fair in Low Yat where computers stuff is cheap there. OK… Low Yat is like computers one-stop-center for KL.

But for Tokyo is different. There’s one place called Akihabara or most people call it Electronic Town of Tokyo where you can get all the electronic stuff. All these while I just hear people said Akihabara is bigger than Low Yat plaza many many times. But last weekend I got the chance to see it myself and I was shocked with the size of the Electronic Town and the activities in that area. The whole of Akihabara sell computers, handphone, toys and AV products. It is bigger than Low Yat 30 times or more…. which I’m not able to estimate it.

When I first came out of the Akihabara station, there was a Matsuri Festival parade held there. Few groups of people parade their floats around Akihabara. I don’t know what is this festival but I believe is something to do with their religion. Another that suprised me when I came out from the station was a group of young Japanese girls wear Maid costume and giving out flyers of Maid service. They not only looks pretty but also very fair.

 Every Sunday, the Akihabara main road will be closed for patrons. There are thousand of patrons walking on the main street of Akihabara to buy stuffs. Some shops there using loud speaker to attract customer. Is a bit noisy there in Akihabara. There’s one shop here selling second hand CDs, DVDs, and games. I was suprised second hand XBOX360 selling at 24000 yen only is like about RM 700. Most of the stuff here is selling at half price. There’s also some shops sell Japanese toys where you can find tons of figurine, model, and cosplay costume. How the main street looks like? Just take a look at my photo gallery below.

 Yodobashi, is a mall where all kinds of electronics can be found there. It occupied 7 floors and each floor sells different kind of electronics. 1st Floor (Ground) sell handphone, 6th Floor sell games, 4th Floor sell camera and watch. I can’t remember all teh floors. There’s too many choices until I also got headache to choose which item I want to buy. For small items like memory card, they won’t display the real item on shelf. They just put a card represent the product on the shelf. Then you take the card to the cashier counter and they will get the product for you from their storeroom. Outside Yodobashi, some people actually do street performance beside the road. Most of them produce their own album and try to sell there to catch people attention on their talent.

That’s all for now…. I will come back with more interesting posting on Japan. For now enjoy the photos I took in Akihabara.

Akihabara 13 May 07
4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ninja Turtle on May 17, 2007 at 12:53 am

    Wah you set yr eyes on the cute maids? Why didnt you take them home to wash your underwear since your aunty is not there?? LOL
    So please buy me EPSON toners X 4 colurs from Akihabara. Thanks

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bruce on May 17, 2007 at 9:11 am

    haha… if I can bring them home. i will haha :p .

    Reply

  3. Excellent post, keep it up

    Reply

  4. Posted by mayhemgaurd on August 2, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    well, just aswell cheap mobiles uk stock really cheap electronics products. Make me looking foward to xmas already 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

